Many people unwisely fail to seek legal counsel prior to entering a plea on a traffic charge. In Georgia, points are assessed by the State depending on the offense or speed. Certain offenses such as DUI or driving on a suspended license require mandatory jail time. Some offenses result in a suspension of driving privileges. For drivers under the age of 18, an accumulation of four or more points will suspend their driver’s license. If you receive a traffic citation or charge, you should consult with a qualified attorney prior to a court appearance or paying the fine.
The Law Offices of Larry H. Tatum, P.C. is equipped to handle any traffic violation, including:
- Speeding tickets
- Suspended license charges
- No insurance
- No license
- Reckless driving
- Other traffic violations
While the penalties you face depend on your specific traffic violation, jurisdiction, and facts, the Law Offices of Larry H. Tatum, P.C. is determined to help you minimize or avoid the legal consequences including heavy fines, points, driver's license suspension and in some cases, jail time.
If you are from outside the area and received a citation while traveling, we may be able to help you resolve your ticket without having to return to the area.
The Law Offices of Larry H. Tatum, P.C. is experienced in the city, county and State courts to provide you with quality representation and defense to any traffic violation. Contact us today for an appointment!
Under 21 Traffic Violations
Different rules apply if you are under age 21. Rather than going easy on younger drivers, Georgia driving laws are stricter and carry harsher sanctions for those under 21.
With mandatory license suspension on the line for certain offenses, under 21 drivers will need experienced legal representation. The Law Offices of Larry H. Tatum, P.C. has helped many teens and young adults retain their driving privileges and avoid other consequences of traffic violations.
Harsher Penalties for Underage Drivers
Drivers under the age of 21 are subject to automatic license suspension if convicted of speeding 24 mph or more over the posted limit (for example, 59 mph in a 35 mph zone, or 79 mph in a 55 zone). The suspensions may range from 6 to 12 months, with no eligibility for a restricted license to drive to school or work. Your license is in danger whenever:
- Under 21 drinking and driving
- .02 BAC for under 21 drivers (less than one full drink) may result in loss of your license for one year, with no "work permit" being allowed.
- Other suspendable violations
Any 4 point or more traffic violation results in suspension for under 21 drivers:
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Passing a stopped school bus
- Fleeing or eluding police
- Reckless driving
- Racing on a highway or street
Always talk to a qualified attorney before pleading guilty or paying the fine.
Our goal is to attempt to get charges dismissed or at least reduced to a lesser points offense, to avoid suspension and to avoid steep increases in your car insurance.
Click here if you or someone you know needs help with DUI defense.
For a consultation, contact us at 770-979-2199 today.